Liebster Award nominee

Okay, wow! I have just been nominated for the Liebster award by the wonderful Elizabeth at http://teandpaper.com/ You must pop over there! I drop in and browse around and love the honest thoughts and beautiful pictures that get posted. Say hi, okay?

This is so cool!

1) First, you include a link back to the post or blog of the person who nominated you and you thank them because manners are everything!
2) Include 11 facts about yourself.
3) Answer the 11 questions that the blogger who nominated posted.
4) Post 11 more questions for your nominees to answer.
5) Nominate 11 bloggers that have less than 200 followers.

The purpose of this award is to spread some love to the nominees and increase awareness of their blog.

Here is a link bank to Elizabeth, who nominated me.

http://teandpaper.com/2014/04/27/liebster-award-nomination/ Remember to say hi everyone!

Provide 11 facts about yourself. Here you go…

1 I am a total book nut. I once removed over 200 books from a bookshelf in my old house, and you couldn’t see the difference. Two thirds of my loft space contains my library, as I don’t have a bookcase anymore. But I have a kindle fit to burst!

2 I am very, very Romantic in the proper sense of the word, not the vomit sense of the word.

3 I believe in True Love, because I have it. When anyone says ‘How do you know?’ I simply tell them, it’s easy. The feeling in your heart is totally different to anything you have ever felt before in your life. It is overwhelming, all encompassing.

4 I believe in the fundamental interconnectedness of things and reverse causality: the future creates the past. That way, everything has a reason and is leading us to a destiny. No, I’m not hedging my bets! lol

5 Doctor Who rocks, classic and new. Come on, people! 50 years of the same show, with none of the original cast at all and stronger than it’s ever been? You know it makes sense!

6 I have a garden which is in the throes / thrashes of total change. It will look good when it’s finished, honest!

7 I dug a 7000 litre pond and filled it with Koi fish, (young ones!), for my wife because she was really ill with a tumour and wanted to cheer her up. Tumour has gone and the fish are now quite large! I’m happy!

8 I grew up in a very poor seaside town called Ilfracombe. It was very popular with the Victorians, but then so was Syphilis. (No,I’m not impressed with my home town!!)

9 Did I mention I love my wife more than anything in the world?

10 I met Palden Gyatso (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Palden_Gyatso) when I was doing my B.Ed / Music degree. Brought me to tears. Such a beautiful soul and so wise: he radiated peace and tranquillity like I have never known. So honoured to have been blessed by him. Wow.

11 Thirteen is my lucky number. My childhood home was number 13. For some reason, the terrace we lived on omitted number 14, but kept 13. So it numbered 11,12,13,15! That’s Ilfracombe for you!

Now answer the following questions…

1. Why do you blog?

Ah, easy one this: I blog because I cannot have any more pieces of A4 scattered around my home in a myriad of folders, boxes and carrier bags. I have written stories, poems, ideas, plays, TV scripts since I could write, and I’ve kept all of them. Even the really embarrassing ones from teen years.

No, you will never see them.

2. What is the opinion of your family and/or friends about you blogging?

My wife encouraged me to do it. She’d seen me getting continually disheartened with rejection slips from publishers and agents, and wisely suggested that a blog would be a good thing for me. I’d already helped her set up her own, so it was a simple step to being here.

3. Which way do you express your creativity?

I have two mains ways I guess: writing and my music. I’m a guitar / clarinet / piano / bodhran -ist kind of guy, so I try to immerse my soul in music and express myself through my playing. Back in the day, I did have a gigging band, and that was cool.

I write, because if I don’t I feel I will simply die. My brain is stupidly full of characters, ideas, places, realms, pain, joy, suffering and exhilaration. I use paper, phone, post its, laptop, kindle… every one that has anything to do with me has something written by me on it!

(My garden looks nice too, so I guess that counts as well!)

4. Do you have a journal? If yes, since when?

Afraid not. I think, if I did one, it would be too dark and cynical. Which is ironic, considering how positive I am!!

5. Do you have plans to write a book one day?

Already done it. I’m on my fourth. No one’s bought them yet, but I am VERY available if you want me!

6.  What is your favourite book?

Oy vey, only one?!?! Evil, nasty, vicious question!!! lol How about one in each genre?

One.

Really?!

Hmmm… It would have to be, currently, Ocean at the end or the lane by Neil Gaiman. It has just usurped The Call of Cthulhu by HP Lovecraft.

You know this is going to change again, you know that, right?!?! lol

7. Which place would you like to visit?

Anywhere, as long as my wife is beside me and the tea I drink is Yorkshire tea. This planet is a phenomenal place and is full of beauty. Heh, as long as there are very few people around, I’ll enjoy it!

8. Have you participated in online courses? if yes, which was your favourite?

I’ve done a few for work – DUUUULLLLLL!!!! Best one : Blogging 201, WordPress. Turned my blog around and made it… well, rather lovely!

9. What is your favourite thing to do in a raining day?

I have a beautiful wife. Hold her hand, sip cups of tea and dream of our Country Cottage. (I’m a country boy at heart, not a townie!)

10. Do you blog in your free time, or bloging is the priority in our day?

I’m a free time blogger – well, when I can find the time that is through work!

11. Which advice you would give for who is starting to blog now?

I would say do not be shy, but neither be overbearing or rude.

Politeness and honesty out here is important, as your blog is you for the world to see.

Well, that’s me done!

Now these are my questions:

1) How do you spend your free time?

2) Favourite place to relax?

3) Smell that reminds you of something, and why?

4) Favourite books? Notice books, not just one!!

5) Favourite album?

6) Any tips on blogging?

7) What prompted you to start you blog in the first place?

8) What would you like your blog to become?

9) In five years time, where would you like see yourself?

10) What three things would you take if you were stranded on a desert island? Sadly, no mobile signal! 😦

11) What is the most over used word you have come across?

My Nominees will be on their way very soon – as soon as I can find  eleven blogs I follow with less than 200 followers. I just checked my regular ones and they seem to be all in the hundreds!

I’ll finish work tonight and search like a crazy man!

Be seeing you!

UPDATE:

Here are my blogs – I hope I counted properly… apologies if I’ve made an error on your followers – it’s not easy to spot! I read these via phone and tablet and they always make me smile for their diversity and intelligence, wisdom and passion. Very cool!

I can find eight blogs that I think fit the criteria – all the others I follow seem to be in the thousands!! Doh!

http://nanclairefalkner.wordpress.com/

http://clairefuller.co.uk/

http://stopboringlife.wordpress.com/

http://trueeast.wordpress.com/blog/

http://gelukiseenkeuze.wordpress.com/

http://sophiakimble.wordpress.com/

http://patriciaruthsusan.wordpress.com/about/

http://lishwriter.wordpress.com/

One thought on “Liebster Award nominee

  1. “as your blog is you for the world to see” i liked this bit. but it conflicts with the ‘politeness’ part. sometimes i am not polite in my honesty and i make no apologies. being nice 100% of the time would be a lie since i am nothing 100%, but a kaleidoscope of thoughts, feelings and emotions. i look forward to reading your works…

Leave a comment