Writing 101 – 3 songs (Not as late as it could be…)

Hmm. That’s a difficult one  – I’m a musician, music teacher and audio-nut. Three songs is a bit like choosing three favourite plants from RHS Chelsea – pretty damned impossible. However, I am not one to shy away from a challenge…

Bohemian Rhapsody, Queen.

Soaring vocals, guitar epicness, amazing chord progressions and inversions that soar over one another in an amazingly intricate display of sustained notes and partial cadences. Yeah, probably went a little technical there and, tbh, it’s been so long since I did music theory that I might well have forgotten my terminology! Apologies to those of a sensitive nature if i have offended thee! Anyhoo, BoRhap is epic for many reasons, and important to me for only one – it got me into the potentiality of music as a dynamic force that can not only enhance a persons life, but enable them to be transported to a different world. Not bad for a seven year old, eh? The chilling open line ‘…just killed a man…’ and then the subsequent escalation of events as the piano and bass guitar lay emotion onto one another as the song rpogresses that was meant to say progresses btw, love not being allowed to self-correct – not! – is just amazing. That’s before opera materialises in the middle of the song for what can only be described as the ultimate bridge! Then we get the Wayne’s World moment and we just know that all is right with the universe. (Headbanging: it’s what makes the world turn, people.)

I lost my Heart to A Starship Trooper

I was young, ok?

Might be the groovy, funktastic bass riff that drives the whole song, it might be sparkly spandex dancers or the fact that I was totally into Sci-FI and starships were pretty cool to my mind back then. Either way, this song is a rather perverted guilty pleasure and I make no apologies for it…ah, who am I kidding? Sorry!

Number three?

Bach’s Tocatta and Fugue in Dmin

It’s great to play! Seriously, you take those open notes and slam them out full volume on a piano / organ / guitar / whatever, and BOOM baby, that’s power overload! It was one of the first / only pieces I was really prod to have learned off by heart when I was really learning to play the piano, and even today I cannot help to feel a stirrin’ in my heart at this piece. The power that it punches out in the middle, with the root pedal notes hammering away underneath a simple ascending scale, which then turns itself around into a descending dance of arpeggio’s is fantastic! The fugue drifts even further into dream territory, with twin lines playing around one another like lovers in the park.

EEEP! I went into weird muso analogy!!

 

3 thoughts on “Writing 101 – 3 songs (Not as late as it could be…)

  1. Great post! Ooh, I didn’t even think of Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody. Amazing choice. I love quite a few of their songs; that’s one of my favorites. I have to admit, though, I’ve never even heard of I Lost My Heart to a Starship Trooper. Good luck catching up. I’m in the same boat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

