Friday Fictioneers – 25 4 14 : Juntos

WELCOME TO FRIDAY FICTIONEERS

Henry David Thoreau said it best.

“It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see.”

THE CHALLENGE:

Write a one hundred word story that has a beginning, middle and end. (No one will be ostracized for going a few words over the count.)

THE KEY:

MAKE. EVERY. WORD. COUNT.

Pop along to http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/ to join in the fun!

Fifty six years difference disappeared in less than 60 seconds of arpeggiated connection between father and son.

Words were irrelevant; a burden. Nuance was the language spoken here, melody the currency. The qualities of both men resonated from their strings. From the opening diminished chords, cycling through themselves to resolve down into an Andalusian rhythm, both men became one, as they were many years ago, linked through the song and the freedom of improvisation.

Only those who knew them, could see the differences now in their styles and the way they held their guitars: the feud had ended at last.

 

Anything that is music orientated will pretty much automatically garner my attention, even across a room or a street – guess the musician in me is hard-wired to the sound!

13 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – 25 4 14 : Juntos

  1. It’s really hard, I think, to write a description of music successfully, but I you’ve certainly done it here and so lovely that it is music that brings the two characters back together. (I love the WordPress theme by the way – I’ve been looking for a new one for mine, and this seems like a good option. Do you happen to know if it reduces properly for viewing on a phone or tablet?)

    • Thank you! I am a musician, lapsed, and couldn’t pass up a chance to try to capture something intangible here! Glad you like the theme: it works like a dream, I have to say, and still looks good on tablet or mobile.

      • Hi Kingsley – I’ve just changed my theme, and all seems to be working so far, except… I really like how the pictures for each of your posts is large, and mine are small, and I can’t work out how to change them. Any guidance you can give me?
        Thanks,
        Claire

      • Hello again-glad you like the theme! I’m on my Kindle at the moment, so bear with me! I’ve gone through all the possible menus I used and suddenly twigged why they are a good size:I use the original source picture whenever possible, with maximum resolution and size. The theme then shrinks them to fit! Hope that helps, and congrats on your publishing deal! lol

  2. Nuance was the language spoken here, Gorgeous line. I cheated and read other people’s comments before I put mine down (I usually try not to do that) and you really come across as a musician in this story.

  3. Dear Kingsley, Your story is uplifting with a good ending! Good for them! Also, I love the mantra or the “About Me” segment you wrote under your name above. You are a positive thinking person and are probably a fascinating professor! You are an inspiring writer for sure! And, True Love does exist, just look at a mother or father holding their newborn child! Not forsaking all the meant-to-be lost souls that find each other in the Universe and that becomes True Love also! Thanks, Nan 🙂

Leave a Reply

