Friday Fictioneers – The Library

The justified wisdom of his age could not be contained within his ancient frame anymore.

A life, disorganised but worthy, lay perfect bound and broken spined on oaken crutches, glaring with fiery intensity at those who paid respects, even though his own eyes had grown dim and irrelevant years before. The full seven ages had coursed with vigour through his fingers, leaving their imprints upon his shelves as well as his body, and he regretted not a chapter or verse of his life, for his place was not to be an appendix in this world, it was contents and contentment.

This is my contribution to the fantastic Friday Fictioneers:

Write a one hundred word story that has a beginning, middle and end. (No one will be ostracized for going over or under the word count.)

THE KEY:

Make every word count.

I hope I did!

25 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Library

  1. Every time I get to your story I say to myself ‘yay, kingsley!’ (sometimes I even clap) – yes, you did make every word count. I loved this – especially “his place was not to be an appendix in this world, it was contents and contentment.” Brilliant stuff.

    • That is so kind and- believe it or not- amazingly well timed! I have been doubting my writing the last few weeks and even considered giving it up! That comment means a LOT to me! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Yeah, sorry, that’s absolutely not allowed. Anyway, this season Doctor Who’s gone all eighties on us, so you can dust off that old DW script and give it another go.

        Seriously though, in times of severe self-doubt you need to get some work out there – have you thought about competitions? – Bristol Prize (4000 words) – deadline end of this month – if you’ve got something ready. Bridport Prize – 5000 words – deadline end of next month.

        Self-doubt does come with the territory – that’s why we have day jobs – so when we’re asked what we do, we can pretend we’re not writers!

  2. Dear Kingsley,
    I echo EL. Self doubt does go with the territory. Don’t give up. I heard it said by one of the agents who turned my novel down…85% of writers fail simply because they quit. Don’t.
    Nice piece…lovely metaphors. “contents and contentment.” Sweet.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

