Friday Fictioneers –

Image

 

I think I’m getting the hang of this WordPress thing now…my first picture!

 

My mother played dress up as a little girl, just as my Father played up to the girl in the dress he married weeks before being invalided out of service back in ’53: Johanna.

Every 25th we meet her now, the sepia memory intact in her head serenading the shellac memories of my Father on the sideboard next to the Menorah that my little Lizzie likes to doodle down in her own multi-coloured way. Lizzie and Mum are worlds apart, yet entwined together through me and my inability to say ‘no’ to the man she didn’t want to say ‘yes’ to.

29 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers –

    • Hiya,

      I’m echoing two lives joined by the items in the picture – ‘I’ in the story married the man her mother didn’t like, had a child by him and then visits her every Hanukkah. Just a simple life really!

  1. I had to read this twice before it clicked. Once it did, everything fell into place. It’s so common for families to be joined by a child these days. You’re last line tied it all up so nicely.

  2. In the story is if fair to say that Lizzie’s mum is a result of an unwanted marriage? There are many underlining points. I really like the unspoken lines.

    • “invalided past participle, past tense of in·va·lid (Verb)
      Verb
      1.Remove (someone) from active military service because of injury or illness: “he was invalided out of the infantry”.
      2.Disable (someone) by injury or illness.”
      Definition 1 is relevant here I believe. Probably not a term that is used now as we would not refer to someone as an ‘invalid’.

    • The relationships are implicit more than explicit, true enough, but essentially ‘I’ and Lizzie and Mum are all that are in this: Mum played dress up, lost dad, I married a man she wasn’t too keen on, had Lizzie, and we meet every 25th for Hanukkah. There is, however, a lot of hidden dialogue between ‘I’ and Mum!

Leave a Reply

